Feb. 26, 2020

HARRISBURG — Rep. Joe Emrick (R-Northampton) today announced the School Safety and Security Committee has awarded $130,000 in School Safety and Security Grants to school districts in the 137th Legislative District.

“These school districts deserve every penny of this funding,” Emrick said. “Having been a former teacher, I know that these grants will be put to good use—protecting our children by equipping schools to help keep them out of harm’s way.”

Those receiving grants locally are:

• Bangor Area School District – $40,000.
• Easton Area School District – $45,000.
• Nazareth Area School District – $45,000.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

The 137th Legislative District encompasses the townships of Forks, Lower Mount Bethel, parts of Palmer, Upper Mount Bethel, Upper Nazareth and Washington. It also contains the boroughs of Bangor, East Bangor, Nazareth, Portland, Roseto, Stockertown and Tatamy.

Representative Joe Emrick
137th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Michael Plummer
RepEmrick.com / Facebook.com/RepEmrick